The Ballon d'Or shortlist has been announced

Ronaldo, Bale, Messi and Neymar all feature, but there’s no room for one controversial Barcelona striker…

EDGAR staff October 28, 2014

The 23-man shortlist for the Fifa 2014 mens' world footballer of the year award - or Ballon d'Or - has been released. Featuring all the usual suspects including current holder Cristiano Ronaldo, three-time winner Lionel Messi and the world's most expensive footballer Garth Bale, the list has very few surprises except for perhaps one: the exclusion of a certain Luis Suarez.

The Barcelona new boy, who made his debut for the Catalan giants in last week's El Classico loss to Real Madrid, played a vital role in Uruguay's qualification for the last 16 of the World Cup, but was then suspended from all football activity for four months after being found guilty of biting Italy defender Giorgio Chellini. Suarez bites Chellini.

Elsewhere, the list features two goalkeepers - Chelsea's Thibaut Courtois and Bayern Munich's World Cup-winning German Manuel Neuer - and the best represented nation on the list is, as you'd expect, Germany.

As well as the players, the Fifa Coach of the Year shortlist has also been announced, with Real Madrid's Carlo Ancelotti, who guided his club to the Champions League, Super Cup and Copa del Rey titles last season, the favourite.

The 23-man players list will be cut down to three finalists in December, before the winner is finally announced on January 12, 2015, in Zurich. Here are both shortlists in full:

Ballon d'Or:

Gareth Bale Wales, Real Madrid

Karim Benzema France, Real Madrid

Diego Costa Spain, Chelsea

Thibaut Courtois Belgium, Chelsea

Angel Di Maria Argentina, Manchester United

Mario Gotze, Germany, Bayern Munich

Eden Hazard, Belgium, Chelsea

Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Sweden, Paris Saint-Germain

Andres Iniesta, Spain, Barcelona

Toni Kroos, Germany, Real Madrid

Philipp Lahm, Germany, Bayern Munich

Javier Mascherano Argentina, Barcelona

Lionel Messi Argentina, Barcelona

Thomas Muller Germany, Bayern Munich

Manuel Neuer Germany, Bayern Munich

Neymar, Brazil Barcelona

Paul Pogba France, Juventus

Sergio Ramos Spain, Real Madrid

Arjen Robben Netherlands, Bayern Munich

James Rodriguez Colombia, Real Madrid

Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal, Real Madrid

Bastian Schweinsteiger Germany, Bayern Munich

Yaya Toure Ivory Coast, Manchester City

Coach of the Year:

Carlo Ancelotti Real Madrid

Antonio Conte Juventus/Italy

Pep Guardiola Bayern Munich

Jurgen Klinsmann United States

Joachim Low Germany

Jose Mourinho Chelsea

Manuel Pellegrini Manchester City

Alejandro Sabella Argentina

Diego Simeone Atletico Madrid

Louis van Gaal Netherlands/Manchester United